Monday, April 25, 2011

Windows XP: Mouse Malfunction

Hello!
Today I installed the new updates for my computer and a mouse update was involved with it. After restarting my computer my mouse is acting funny.

Moving the mouse up makes the pointer go to the right.
Moving the mouse down makes the pointer go to the left.
Moving the mouse to the right makes the pointer go down.
Moving the mouse to the left makes the pointer go up.

I tried using "System Restore" but it didn't work!

Thank you for reading and hope you can help!

Reply 1 : Windows XP: Mouse Malfunction

While I would have my own way to deal with it, a common reply is about that Nvidia rotation issue. Not much about the machine so I wonder if my old shot first, ask questions later fix that I use will do.

I boot safe mode, head to the Device Manager and remove+delete all mice I find there.

On reboot Windows finds the mice and reinstalls them.
Bob

Network Speeds - Correct??? =/

So, I have always said around here how I have the worse internet speeds of anyone here (although there are exceptions.) Now I am wondering, because I was changing some settings and saw this...







I have always gotten at the most 180 kilobytes per second. Now assuming kilobits per second, which in case it still is different.

Reply 1 : Network Speeds - Correct??? =/


Quote:








Originally Posted by Superkabii
View Post

So, I have always said around here how I have the worse internet speeds of anyone here (although there are exceptions.) Now I am wondering, because I was changing some settings and saw this...







I have always gotten at the most 180 kilobytes per second. Now assuming kilobits per second, which in case it still is different.



Where do you live? What speed's are you paying for via your ISP?



And try speedtest.net see what kinda results you get......need you try them throughout the day, cant use 1 sample of speed and expect it to be end all be all result.

Reply 2 : Network Speeds - Correct??? =/


Quote:








Originally Posted by soulsaver_8229
View Post

Where do you live? What speed's are you paying for via your ISP?



And try speedtest.net see what kinda results you get......need you try them throughout the day, cant use 1 sample of speed and expect it to be end all be all result.



Like I said, I have always gotten around 180 kilobytes per second max. This is not just one result. I figured this was just normal, but now in seeing the router page, I am confused.

Reply 3 : Network Speeds - Correct??? =/


Quote:








Originally Posted by Superkabii
View Post

Like I said, I have always gotten around 180 kilobytes per second max. This is not just one result. I figured this was just normal, but now in seeing the router page, I am confused.



The router page is simply stating the downstream and upstream sync speed. The actual speed of your connection comes down to the line quality, server load, etc.



Also, KB =/= Kb.

Reply 4 : Network Speeds - Correct??? =/


Quote:








Originally Posted by Amnesiac
View Post

The router page is simply stating the downstream and upstream sync speed. The actual speed of your connection comes down to the line quality, server load, etc.



Also, KB =/= Kb.



Ok then. I just didn't know what the data on that page represented. In that case, I'll have to check with AT&T. Their lowest plan for internet seems to be way above what I have now, although we signed up when this was the average internet connection speed.

Reply 5 : Network Speeds - Correct??? =/


Quote:








Originally Posted by Superkabii
View Post

Ok then. I just didn't know what the data on that page represented. In that case, I'll have to check with AT&T. Their lowest plan for internet seems to be way above what I have now, although we signed up when this was the average internet connection speed.



Run Begin Test and report your down and up speeds in bps (bits per second), not Bytes.



GK

Reply 6 : Network Speeds - Correct??? =/

As originally stated, I had said that when converted to kilobits per second, it was different. Now I see what that data on the main page represents.

Reply 7 : Network Speeds - Correct??? =/


Quote:








Originally Posted by Superkabii
View Post

As originally stated, I had said that when converted to kilobits per second, it was different. Now I see what that data on the main page represents.



The suggested test would yield actual speeds to compare with your broadband service level to answer your original question.



GK

wired speeds wirelessly

I know this subject might not be for this forum but I just wanted to share something with you. If anyone is needing a new wireless router you might be interested in the Netgear 600N. I had an old WRT 54G Linksys and I kept losing my connection, packet loss, slow download speeds etc. I have 30/5 connection speeds. When wired to the cable modem I get around 33 or 32 down,about 5.20 up. Now using my A.W. wirelessly I get 30 or 31 down, 5 up. I took one test at Speedtest.net using NYC as the server and got 33 and 5.3 I mean this freakin' router screams! The price was $129 at BestBuy.

Reply 1 : wired speeds wirelessly

Thanks, it's past time to replace my old WRT54G. I'll check out the Netgear 600N.

Reply 2 : wired speeds wirelessly

This is using my netgear wndr3700



The internet is the limiting factor for my speed, I dont have another pc to test LAN wireless speed.









Edit:



I though I should mention that the router is a dual band wireless-N router. So that means no interference on the 5ghz channel from all the other 2.4ghz wireless routers, phones, etc. But I can still use older wireless-G devices since it is dual band.

Reply 3 : wired speeds wirelessly

I have the same model as you do.The WNDR 3700 This is wireless. I used to get 20 if I was lucky with WRT54G

Great RGB Wallpapers and More

Found this searching around, hopefully it's not a repost.



however you can filter out those images for later



Best wallpapers / Wallbase.cc

Reply 1 : Great RGB Wallpapers and More

great set of pictures man!!!! thanks ! + 1 rep

Reply 2 : Great RGB Wallpapers and More

Awesome find!!

Reply 3 : Great RGB Wallpapers and More

Oh snap. Tagging this for when my Clevo comes.

Reply 4 : Great RGB Wallpapers and More

+ rep

bookmarked

Reply 5 : Great RGB Wallpapers and More

Man, I just ran through all 481, and I think I love at least 375 of them.



This is the greatest collection of wallpapers I've ever seen.

Reply 6 : Great RGB Wallpapers and More

that website is AWESOME

Reply 7 : Great RGB Wallpapers and More

Glad you guys like

Reply 8 : Great RGB Wallpapers and More

Thanks for sharing

Reply 9 : Great RGB Wallpapers and More

Thanks, many that I'll be using.

Is Alienware TactX Mouse worth it??

Is Alienware TactX Mouse worth it?? worth the 100$?? or I can get a better mouse with 100$?

Reply 1 : Is Alienware TactX Mouse worth it??

I bought it and then returned it because it was wayyyy too small. It's around the same size as my Razer that I never use.



Go G9X imo ...best mouse ever and it matched Alienware laptops quite well.

Reply 2 : Is Alienware TactX Mouse worth it??

and razer? not good?

Reply 3 : Is Alienware TactX Mouse worth it??


Quote:








Originally Posted by WaffleBoy
View Post

and razer? not good?



Depends on your hands. If your hands are large, go with the G9X, if your hands are tiny/small, go with Razer/TactX.



I personally prefer the G9X since there's interchangeable grips for hand sizes and weights. It's a very light mouse too



It all comes down to the perfect fit for your hand size and if you prefer light or heavy mouses.

Reply 4 : Is Alienware TactX Mouse worth it??

I have it and its awesome.

its super clean and chic and moves great.



i recommend it.

Reply 5 : Is Alienware TactX Mouse worth it??

I have it too, cord was too long so I cut it down to 20 inches.

Reply 6 : Is Alienware TactX Mouse worth it??


Quote:








Originally Posted by Voodooi
View Post

Depends on your hands. If your hands are large, go with the G9X, if your hands are tiny/small, go with Razer/TactX.



I personally prefer the G9X since there's interchangeable grips for hand sizes and weights. It's a very light mouse too



It all comes down to the perfect fit for your hand size and if you prefer light or heavy mouses.



The Alienware TactX is like Razer Mamba? (I'm taking about the size)




Quote:








Originally Posted by msparrow88
View Post

I have it and its awesome.

its super clean and chic and moves great.



i recommend it.



ok thanks




Quote:








Originally Posted by ejohnson
View Post

I have it too, cord was too long so I cut it down to 20 inches.



how long is the cord?

Reply 7 : Is Alienware TactX Mouse worth it??

I have a Logitech G9x and i love it. Size is somewhat adjustable with the 2 grips and different weight sets. I think $100 for the Tactx is just too much. Not only that but the fact that, as mentioned before, the G9x matches the Alienware naturally is a plus.



The LED lights on my mouse are blue and perfectly match the blue lights on my M15x.



Oh, and i almost forgot, i got this mouse at Best buy for about... i think $60.

Reply 8 : Is Alienware TactX Mouse worth it??

If I'm not mistaken the Tactx is a G9x made specifically for Alienware. The Tactx does not have the interchangeable grips or weights though. Plus that's why the LED's on the G9x match with the Alienware light colours as mentioned by ArchNemesis.

Reply 9 : Is Alienware TactX Mouse worth it??

Can I buy the Tactx and use this on it? NewLogitech G9X Mouse Shell Replacements | eBay

AMD Drivers For 2011 MBP?

I know there aren't any official ones, but I desperately need the new catalyst drivers for my AMD Radeon HD 6750M, I know I can get it on my windows partition but I need it for my OSX partition as there is no more room on my windows partition. If anybody knows of any drivers for said card (meant for OSX) please feel free to share. Any help would be appreciated, thanks in advance.

Reply 1 : AMD Drivers For 2011 MBP?

AMD doesn't make drivers for OSX. They are made by Apple and updates released through Software update. Apples release cycle has nothing to do with AMD's catalysts releases and developments.

Reply 2 : AMD Drivers For 2011 MBP?


Quote:








Originally Posted by wave
View Post

AMD doesn't make drivers for OSX. They are made by Apple and updates released through Software update. Apples release cycle has nothing to do with AMD's catalysts releases and developments.



Yes I realize that but I make Machinima on minecraft and I need to use a GLSL shader mod but it won't work unless I have new drivers.

Reply 3 : AMD Drivers For 2011 MBP?

you're out of luck until Apple releases the next graphics update.



that might not happen until 10.7 is released. sorry.

Photos in folders rather than thumbnails in Windows 7

I don't like so many of my photos in folders. How can I change them into thumbnails or is that impossible?

Reply 1 : Photos in folders rather than thumbnails in Windows 7

What photos in what folders? And what would be the use of just a thumbnail and no photo?

Kees

Reply 2 : Photos in folders rather than thumbnails in Windows 7

Sorry, not meaning to offend, but what you ask doesn't really make sense.

Photos are just files on the hard disk. Where you store them is entirely up to you and you can choose to store them in one folder, or more than one folder, as you wish.

But changing them to Thumbnails is not anything I have heard of. A thumbnail is just a 'representation' of how the file is displayed in Windows Explorer, or in the application you use to view the photo files.

Those files can be displayed in various ways, eg;

Thumbnails - A small icon that is created by Windows to show what the larger file actually looks like. Can be displayed as Extra Large, Large, Medium or Small thumbnails.
A List, (just a list of file names, with no details).
Details Listing, (file names and also including details such as file size, file type, date created, and so on).
Tiles. Small thumbnails with details of each file.
Content. As Tiles, except the information is spread out.

If you want to change the way Explorer displays your photos, look for the More Options button on the menu bar in Explorer, and experiment with those.

I hope that helps.

Mark

Reply 3 : Photos in folders rather than thumbnails in Windows 7

I guess I haven't made myself clear. A bunch of MY Pictures show up as pictures and that's what I want the ones that appear in folders to do. I want a whole page of pictures and not folders that have to be opened one by one. I'm sorry if that doesn't make sense- it makes sense to me

Reply 4 : Photos in folders rather than thumbnails in Windows 7

Why put them in folders if you want them all in one folder?

And if you put thousands of files in one folder, you discover why that's not so good (speed, etc.)

Seems like a choice, not a bug.

Aren't there photo organizing apps?

Reply 5 : Photos in folders rather than thumbnails in Windows 7

Put them in subfolders of My Pictures. Does that help?

Kees

Reply 6 : Photos in folders rather than thumbnails in Windows 7

to change how your files are viewed. Right click on the start button then click explore. Goto the folder your talking about and click view in the menu on top of screen you will see the options to display the files insode the folder. Theses options are thunbnails, tiles, Icons, lists and details. They each are different. I like details myself because i can select what columns are visible.

M11X R1 Operation Flashpoint Red River?

I was just interested in seeing how this game runs. The min specs require a very weak GPU which the M11X blasts it out of the water and the CPU is 2.4GHz Dual Core. Seems like it would run like BFBC2. Has anyone tried it out? Thanks guys.

Reply 1 : M11X R1 Operation Flashpoint Red River?

Bump. Oh come on, no one has tried this game?

Reply 2 : M11X R1 Operation Flashpoint Red River?

Haha dude it only came out today, no need to bump so quick. Give it some time.

Reply 3 : M11X R1 Operation Flashpoint Red River?

Yeah you're right.

Reply 4 : M11X R1 Operation Flashpoint Red River?


Quote:








Originally Posted by AlienOnions
View Post

Bump. Oh come on, no one has tried this game?





I wouldn't try that game if they PAID me to try it.





They lied their asses off about the first game(Most realistic thing evvvaaarrr!!!one!!), then when the game finally hit the shelves, it was a steaming pile of crap.







It was so terrible, I made a quick little tribute video before I uninstalled it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tYBlErG2riQ

Reply 5 : M11X R1 Operation Flashpoint Red River?

Isn't this using the same engine as the last game? If it is, then it should run fine.

Reply 6 : M11X R1 Operation Flashpoint Red River?


Quote:








Originally Posted by Arak-Nafein
View Post

I wouldn't try that game if they PAID me to try it.





They lied their asses off about the first game(Most realistic thing evvvaaarrr!!!one!!), then when the game finally hit the shelves, it was a steaming pile of crap.







It was so terrible, I made a quick little tribute video before I uninstalled it.

YouTube - Operation Flashpoint 2: Retarded Dragon



I liked that. Even better then this.

Reply 7 : M11X R1 Operation Flashpoint Red River?


Quote:








Originally Posted by DavyGT
View Post

I liked that. Even better then this.



Hahaha. Yeah, I remember that one. There are some more; one that comes to mind is one example where one guy put a circle of enemies around him & he went prone & they could no longer shoot him. This is @ like 50 meters distance. O_o









It's even worse if you consider the history of OFP, ARMA, Bohemia Interactive & Codemasters. For anyone that doesn't know, the original OFP was made by Bohemia Interactive, but published by Codemasters. Bohemia & Codemasters had some sort of disagreement.....but Codemasters owned the rights to the NAME "Operation Flashpoint". So Bohemia went on to make ARMA & ARMAII.....while Codemasters went on to destroy the OFP namesake with that monstrosity known as OFP: DR.







So, for any of you original OFP fans, ARMA & ARMAII are the TRUE sequels to OFP, not OFP: DR & OFP: RR.

Reply 8 : M11X R1 Operation Flashpoint Red River?


Quote:








Originally Posted by Arak-Nafein
View Post

Hahaha. Yeah, I remember that one. There are some more; one that comes to mind is one example where one guy put a circle of enemies around him & he went prone & they could no longer shoot him. This is @ like 50 meters distance. O_o









It's even worse if you consider the history of OFP, ARMA, Bohemia Interactive & Codemasters. For anyone that doesn't know, the original OFP was made by Bohemia Interactive, but published by Codemasters. Bohemia & Codemasters had some sort of disagreement.....but Codemasters owned the rights to the NAME "Operation Flashpoint". So Bohemia went on to make ARMA & ARMAII.....while Codemasters went on to destroy the OFP namesake with that monstrosity known as OFP: DR.







So, for any of you original OFP fans, ARMA & ARMAII are the TRUE sequels to OFP, not OFP: DR & OFP: RR.



They actually called OFP2 the "official sequel".

OFP2 has an identity crisis. It doesn't know what it is. It has some elements of a realistic shooter (limb damage, dialogue) but is overshadowed by COD elements like the COD-like AI that shoot to hurt and blur your screen but never kill and the fact that you can still sprint after getting shot in the foot.



Hey, at least one guy had the sense to prone while being shot at before crouching.

Reply 9 : M11X R1 Operation Flashpoint Red River?

Haha, I love bashing the new OFP titles and playing ArmA as much as everyone else here, but it doesn't really answer OP's question. Can anyone give a solid indication of performance?



I know they changed the lighting to the same crap as the used on Dirt 2, but that's about it, I have no clue on any kinds of FPS hits.

Sunday, April 24, 2011

Windows Defrag

I can not get windows defrag to work on a schedule. It works if I do it manually but not on schedule. I like to use built in Windows defrag because it does not delete system restore points but 3rd party software defrag deletes restore points.

Reply 1 : Windows Defrag

Why can't you place the defragmenter on a schedule? Which Windows 7 version are you using? Are you getting errors? If so, what are they? A little clearer explanation would sure help.

As just an example on this Windows 7 Pro 32 bit machine, I click on Start-All Programs-
Accessories-System Tools-Disk Defragmenter.. When the defrag program window opens, click on the "Configure Schedule" button. When that opens, place a CHECK mark in the "Run on schedule" box, then select a "Frequency/Day/Timne', then click on the "Select Discs" button and place a CHECK mark in the "OS C:" section. (Leave "System" and the the other options UNCHECKED, unless you have a separate hard drive partition where data is frequently added and removed. There's no need to defrag recovery partitions.) Click on OK.

Opening the Disc Defragmenter window again should show the "Scheduled Defragmentation is turned on" in the "Schedule" section.

Hope this helps.

Grif

Reply 2 : Windows Defrag

Windows 7 32 bit home premium and I have set defrag to schedule but it does not run. I check task scheduler and it shows that it has not run. I even set up different times when computer is idle and does not run. Is there a way to set everything back to default and maybe that might work to run on schedule.

Reply 3 : Windows Defrag

The instructions in the link below are for XP but Windows 7 is basically the same.

How To Run 'Error Checking/Chkdsk' On Win2000/XP

Hope this helps.

Grif

Reply 4 : Windows Defrag

I will try to run check disk to see if it helps.

Reply 5 : Windows Defrag

I was wondering if you can run other programs like anti-virus while defrag is scheduled to run?

Reply 6 : Windows Defrag

First, they could potentially conflict regarding an infected/identified file.. Antivirus programs actually "unpack" files to identify the bad stuff inside.. Not a good idea for that file to be defragmented at the same time.

In the old days, performing this type of thing could easily cause computers to freeze up and stop running entirely till a reboot was done..

Corrupting files just to save a little time isn't my idea of safe computer operations.

I perform such operations separately.

Hope this helps.

Grif

Reply 7 : Windows Defrag

Yes. You can do other things while your are defragmenting your drive.

Reply 8 : Windows Defrag

Yes and No.

In Vista and W7, the built-in is supposed to run in the background, but actually it just pauses when you use the PC and resumes when it is idle.

So if you don't want it to take a long time to get it done, many users recommend that all other programs be closed and the PC not used (some even recommend no screen saver) while defrag is running.

Most users will just leave the PC on all night and manually set the defrag to run before going to sleep and that way it will have a long uninterrupted time to run (and many say it will not complete even though running all night if the disk is very fragmented).

You don't have to worry about this if you run a good third party defrag program (and the better ones will allow you to exclude files, like the system restore points problem you mentioned earlier).

Here is a Top 10 Reviews side-by-side comparison of the best defrag programs available:

http://disk-defragmenter-software-review.toptenreviews.com/

The top place winners all defrag automatically and the top 3 can run without draining system resources so you don't have to stop using your PC while they defrag. The gold medal winner actually prevents fragmentation.

You can click on each product and get the complete review along with its features, etc.

Most of these will provide a free trial so you can test them out before buying.

Good luck!

PS: As for the question about resetting everything to default, have you tried doing a system restore? Just select the earlies one you can find before the problem started and see if that handles the issues (it's fully reversible if it doesn't help).

Reply 9 : Windows Defrag

I ran scan disk check and it works now by schedule. I would like to thank everyone for posting to help with this problem.
Terry

Windows 7 Manager wont install :(

I just tried downloading the windows 7 manager and a pop up that stopped it from downloading said windows 7 manager cannot be installed on systems with .net framework version smaller than 3.0 ..what do I have to do to fix this?

Reply 1 : Windows 7 Manager wont install :(

has already been covered. Try the guidance here;
http://www.yamicsoft.com/windows7manager/faq.html

Also, make sure you have the right version of Windows 7 Manager. There are the 32 bit and the 64 bit versions.

Mark

Reply 2 : Windows 7 Manager wont install :(

I tried both versions and still got that message coming up. So I would have to download a new net framework? would that erase everything off my computer if I did that?

Reply 3 : Windows 7 Manager wont install :(

what your computer is, either 32 bit or 64 bit. What was it when you purchased it?

Would downloading a new Net.Framework erase everything from your computer? No

But if you really want this software installed, you may need to visit that link and do two things;

1] Download and run the Net.Framework Cleanup tool. Then

2] Decide which Net.Framework you need, and download and install it. I can't tell which one is needed but from the error message you gave I am guessing it will have to be the version 3.5 one.

Having said all that, I'm with Bob in what he says below. We don't like Optimisers and Registry Cleaners in these forums as they can cause more damage than good, especially in inexperienced hands. Experienced users don't need them.

Is there a problem you are attempting to solve?

Mark

Reply 4 : Windows 7 Manager wont install :(

Registry cleaners and speed boosters too often do more harm than good.

Delete this title then post about the issue you are trying to solve.
Bob

UPDATES - April 17, 2011

NOD32 - Update 6049 (20110417)
2011-04-17 12:10
http://www.eset.eu/podpora/aktualizacia-6049?lng=en
http://www.eset.eu/support/update-xy1

Reply 1 : UPDATES - April 17, 2011

Latest definition version: 1.101.1639.0
Released: Apr 17, 2011 05:30 AM UTC
Microsoft Security Essentials Version: 2.0.657.0
Engine Version: 1.1.6603.0
Antimalware Client Version:3.0.8107.0
https://www.microsoft.com/security/portal/Definitions/HowToMSE.aspx
http://www.microsoft.com/security_essentials/

Reply 2 : UPDATES - April 17, 2011

Latest ClamAV? stable release is: 0.97
ClamAV Virus Databases:
main.cvd ver. 53 released on 14 Nov 2010 09:58 :0500 (sig count: 846214)
daily.cvd ver. 12988 released on 16 Apr 2011 22:07 :0400 (sig count: 98708)
bytecode.cvd ver. 143 released on 13 Apr 2011 09:39 :0400 (sig count: 40)
safebrowsing.cvd ver. 28740 released on 17 Apr 2011 05:45 :0400 (sig count: 845630)

http://www.clamav.net/

Reply 3 : UPDATES - April 17, 2011

TrojanHunter Ruleset Update - Apr 17, 2011
You should have 388854 rules
http://www.misec.net/forum/board/RulesetUpdates/1303025201

Reply 4 : UPDATES - April 17, 2011

Date: 4/17/2011
Database version: 6383
Fingerprints loaded: 318714
http://malwarebytes.org/mbam.php
http://www.malwarebytes.org/

Reply 5 : UPDATES - April 17, 2011

The latest iAVS update was published on: 17.4.2011 - 110417-0
http://www.avast.com/download-update
http://www.avast.com/virus-update-history

Reply 6 : UPDATES - April 17, 2011

Virus Signature File
Sunday, 17 April 2011
http://www.pandasecurity.com/homeusers/downloads/clients/?

Problems reinstalling Vista

My laptop was acting up so I decided to restore to factory image. Apparently sometime during this process it overheated and shut off. I knew if didn't finish so I did it again but this time it did not overheat. Everything was going fine until the very end. After it installed the programs a window popped up saying "Windows could not complete the installation. To install windows on this computer, restart the installation." Ok, no big probelm. I restarted and tried again. But I continue to get the same error message.

Is there something wrong with windows on my computer? Would buying vista from the store and installing it from the disc fix this? Or is there a hardware problem considering it overheats? Any help would be great happy

And I have an HP Pavilion dv7 with vista64 premium. Thanks

Reply 1 : Problems reinstalling Vista

I would suspect you either have some bad RAM or a bad HDD. Maybe both, but more likely you have some bad RAM.

Use the computer you're using to read this message and download a copy of memtest86+ and let it run overnight on that computer. If you see ANY errors at all, you have bad RAM, and then you'll want to pull all the RAM out save one stick. Test that for a while, if it passes, put in another stick, rinse and repeat until you find the bad one.

If by chance the system is still under warranty, make it HP's problem to fix. More people need to start holding computer vendor's feet to the fire when they ship a shoddy product. Acer and HP would probably be driven out of the PC business if every customer exercised their rights under the warranty.

Reply 2 : Problems reinstalling Vista

Thanks for the replies guys!

Jim,
I'm not sure if running memtest86+ would work in my case. I can restore my computer once before it over heats so I'm sure it wouldn't last the night. Looks like I'll have to take it to a local repair shop but before I do I will trying running that program.

Thanks again guys.

Reply 3 : Problems reinstalling Vista

That's never good as corruption can occur anywhere on the HDD. The overheat is a BAD SIGN the machine needs repair. Unless you didn't tell us the machine was sitting on the bed with the vents blocked.

Last ideas? Use the canned air to clean up the vents and then use the RESTORE MEDIA you made and not the disk to disk restore.

Find out why it overheated!
Bob

Your fav FF4 add-ons

I'm sure at some point a thread like this has been run, but figured a new one for Firefox 4 would be nice.



Adblock Plus- I think anyone running FF has this.



FabTabs- just stumbled on this the other day. Basically, it colors your tabs to the prominent color of the webpage. Kind of like how IE9 does it, but in this case it's just the tab. I find it pretty cool if not superfluous, but it makes FF look that much nicer.



Fast Dial- found this the other day too. Whenever I press the new tab button, I get a "speed dial" page with bookmarks that I've chosen. There's also "new tab king" which automatically picks the pages based on usage, but I found it to have too many "features" such as backgrounds and searches and what not. This is very straightforward but others might prefer that. I highly highly recommend this. Instead of getting a blank page or your home page, you get easy access to how many ever bookmarks you designate.



Personal Menu- I use this to have my bookmarks button become a drop-down menu rather than a link. Very very useful.



RSS Icon in AwesomBar- pretty straight forward. Never used it, mainly for aesthetic purposes. But if people use the RSS button, this would be very useful.



Tab Mix Plus- customize the heck out of how your tabs work. Very very useful.

Reply 1 : Your fav FF4 add-ons

I think Sylph is the most underrated optional boss/summon.

Reply 2 : Your fav FF4 add-ons


Quote:








Originally Posted by nemt
View Post

I think Sylph is the most underrated optional boss/summon.



LOL that's where my mind went

Reply 3 : Your fav FF4 add-ons

Those I use and love the most are as follows:



1. Adblock Plus

2. Password Exporter (lets you export all your saved passwords to a file which you can import using the same addon on another PC or if you reinstall FF or the PC... Very useful!)

3. Webmail Notifier (use it for a few old mailboxes that I haven't added to my default POP3 application, quite handy!)



I avoid using many addons in general, as FF is laggy enough the way it is!! Terrible they couldn't fix it in 4. I wish Opera 11 had addons and better usability.... it runs so much smoother and faster.

Reply 4 : Your fav FF4 add-ons

I'm sticking with FF3 until they update all my current add-ons.

Reply 5 : Your fav FF4 add-ons


Quote:








Originally Posted by LIVEFRMNYC
View Post

I'm sticking with FF3 until they update all my current add-ons.



.... which are ...... ?

Reply 6 : Your fav FF4 add-ons

  • Barlesque
  • DownthemAll
  • Flashblock (Opera and Chrome have this built in, why doesn't FF)
  • Ghostery
  • iReader
  • Last.fm
  • ReaditLater
  • Stumbleupon
  • Turn Off the Lights

Reply 7 : Your fav FF4 add-ons

You guys know AdBlock was outmoded before Firefox 1 even came out, right?

Reply 8 : Your fav FF4 add-ons


Quote:








Originally Posted by Gracy123
View Post

I wish Opera 11 had addons.



Like all these?

Reply 9 : Your fav FF4 add-ons

The vast majority of extensions for browsers seem related to fixing things the main dev team should've fixed themselves (scrolling, zooming, image resizing, etc.) I've yet to find a worthwhile addon for Chrome. I don't use Opera, but I imagine it's a similar situation - especially given Opera's notorious page breaking ways despite the devs' sperg like obsession with standards.



Slightly off topic: Quite clever of Google to require a software installation to block their analytics.

Message to s7ryk3r re: Manual bypass of Samsung BD-HT1250

Not sure why the thread was closed so quickly, but perhaps it's a policy change to go along with the redesign(?) Anyway, FWIW there is often a separate service manual in addition to the user manual. The service manual covers parts/repair while the user manual covers general operation and troubleshooting. Like I said, if you want to try to repair, find a service manual. Otherwise, save yourself the pain and take it in.

Reply 1 : Message to s7ryk3r re: Manual bypass of Samsung BD-HT1250

http://forums.cnet.com/7723-7596_102-523884.html is another example where that Question style post is just a bad idea. The forum bottoms out and discussions are hard.
Bob

Reply 2 : Message to s7ryk3r re: Manual bypass of Samsung BD-HT1250

..how about questions/ideas that get posted and, from the subsequent responses, the OP then asks for additional information/clarification, etc. how something works? In this case he wasn't aware of the distinction between a service & user manual.
One might hope that most threads like this don't get locked quite so soon so that all possibilities/clarifications may be made in a single thread and conveyed back to the OP via forum notifications.

cheers,
P

Reply 3 : Message to s7ryk3r re: Manual bypass of Samsung BD-HT1250

There is a discussion about the new Question format. So far it appears to create more trouble than it's worth.

How do you like it?
Bob

Reply 4 : Message to s7ryk3r re: Manual bypass of Samsung BD-HT1250

I guess I see it as something else the user has to deal with. Perhaps in some cases this may create an unnecessary additional complexity.

I will take a look for the discussion on the new question format...

Which Antivirus works best with Firefox?

What do you guys reccomend in Antivirus and spyware for Firefox?

Reply 1 : Which Antivirus works best with Firefox?

they all do.

Antivirus and anti-spyware programs are not browser specific.

Mark

Reply 2 : Which Antivirus works best with Firefox?

I have used Firefox with ZoneAlarm pro and AVG7 for sometime and everything works great

Reply 3 : Which Antivirus works best with Firefox?

I use ZoneAlarm Extreme on my desktop and tried to install the latest version of it on a netbook with Firefox 4.0. BAD IDEA. Per ZoneAlarm's tech support, Z.A. does not support Firefox version 4.0. Earlier might be okay, but not 4.0. It caused 4.0 to crash and no longer see the internet, even though Internet Explorer had no problem with Z.A. Extreme and network connectivity.

Reply 4 : Which Antivirus works best with Firefox?

I use ZoneAlarm Security Suite and it has no problems with Firefox 4.

It's strange because a browser is just a browser, and anti-virus/firewalls don't really care about them, other than the firewall component may want to ask you if it should allow the browser to access the internet.

What is that link to ZA's comments about FF4?

May be it's some component of ZA Extreme that doesn't like FF4? EG, a browser add-on? If so, disable that.

By the way, you are posting into a thread that began in 2005. You're lucky that I 'pooped in' when I was just passing by.

Mark

Reply 5 : Which Antivirus works best with Firefox?

i had an earlier version of McAfee from when I used Explorer. When I switched to Firefox I bought the new version of McAfee. It works but it won't register because of the old settings that were captured by Explorer (and it won't let go)and because it won't register, it won't update.

Reply 6 : Which Antivirus works best with Firefox?

With firefox and no IE you're probably safe enough anyway. I haven't found any malware with several different programs since using Firefox.

Reply 7 : Which Antivirus works best with Firefox?

Basically you're safe with firefox but still require a firewall in case you use instant messengers or go to those naughty sites

AVG 7
Sygate Personal Firewall
Firefox
Spyware Doctor
Ad-aware personal
Spybot

Reply 8 : Which Antivirus works best with Firefox?

I don't know which one is BEST, but I have been using ZL
Security Suite & BitDefender with Firefox, and I think it's bulletproof. I also have Spyware Blaster (which is great!) Ad-Aware & MS Anti-spyware. Since I installed
Spyware Blaster, my Ad-Aware has had nothing to get rid of. I don't use the Ad-Aware much any more. I also went to www.infostar.com, gave Peter a donation for maintaining the best website going, and downloaded discombobulator, shoot the messenger and unpnp. I also did a free scan with ShieldsUp! and my PC is invisible, according to them!

Compaq S3000V W/ Pent IV, WinXP Home, 1gB RAM, 100
gB Western Digital HD, floppy, CD-ROM & CD-RW.
Good luck!

Reply 9 : Which Antivirus works best with Firefox?

I am actually wondering the same thing because I think it does matter which antivirus you're using with firefox. I was looking in options and it said that my antivirus is not compatible with it. I am not sure why that is. One time I installed firefox and received a message that said it was a critical file and not to install it, I thought that was kind of strange too. I need to have firefox for school though, so, if anyone knows whats going on it would be appreciated.

Reply 10 : Which Antivirus works best with Firefox?

No browser should fail because of anti-virus, so your post is a little surprising. You don't say which anti-virus you use, nor what the full error message is, so it is difficult to say more, but I suspect there are other issues on this computer that is causing any failure.

Mark

Reply 11 : Which Antivirus works best with Firefox?

I'm using Kaspersky and my browser isn't failing, the antivirus just doesn't protect it. I don't remember the error message the time I tried to download firefox but it advised me not to download it and said something about it being a critical file.

Reply 12 : Which Antivirus works best with Firefox?

We normally use the download option at http://www.mozilla-europe.org/en/firefox/

Without knowing the 'full' error message it is difficult to diagnose the problem.

Mark

Reply 13 : Which Antivirus works best with Firefox?

"Kaspersky doesn't protect it". What do you expect your antivirus to do in a browser that Kaspersky doesn't and why do you think it doesn't?

Kees

Reply 14 : Which Antivirus works best with Firefox?

Please tell more details. In Firefox 3.6 in Tools>Options I can't find anything mentioning antivirus with me. Not even that it is compatible?

But you say in your message that you installed it and even can look in its options. So I'd say you can use it for school. No problem left. Everything fine.

Interesting side question: why can't you use Internet Explorer or Chrome for school?

Kees

Reply 15 : Which Antivirus works best with Firefox?

I can't use another browser because none of them are compatible with the online part of my class, they mess with the tests and some of the information won't even come up in internet explorer. The teacher just requested it. Also you know how antivirus usually scans your cookies and email, I guess it sort of attaches to your browser or something well my antivirus checks internet explorer not firefox even though firefox is the default and in my options under manage add ons, extensions it says kaspersky is incompatible w/ firefox 4.0

Reply 16 : Which Antivirus works best with Firefox?

Cookies are just text. They can't contain viruses. No need for an antivirus to scan them. And, from your story, you can use another browser for your mail if you use a webbased mail (like gmail or hotmail by default).

Then for the firefox add-on. There are 5000 of them. Which one is giving which exact message? Or do you mean the manage add ons, extensions of IE or of KAV? Not clear from your post.

Are you afraid that the course material contains a virus. That would be a bad course! If not, there's no need for using antivirus when visiting that school site. Use Firefox only for that and use a browser that makes you feel better protected for everything else.

Or use another antivirusprogram that's more compatible.

Or use the standard version of Firefox (that's 3.6.13 at the moment), in stead of the experimental 4.0. Nothing wrong, of course, of using test and beta versions of a program, but then don't come complaining here that not all your software is compatible with it. Better use it only in a special test machine.

Kees

Reply 17 : Which Antivirus works best with Firefox?

There is a technical difference (see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DVD%2BR for example), but as long you the drive can read the disk and you're not interested in writing a burning program it's totally unimportant. Luckily, all drives sold now can read both types (and more).

Kees

Reply 18 : Which Antivirus works best with Firefox?

I was only responding to someone's message. My instructors advised me not to use anything except firefox for my courses, especially with the 2 problems I've mentioned.

Reply 19 : Which Antivirus works best with Firefox?

Isn't that what this place is for computer problems?

Reply 20 : Which Antivirus works best with Firefox?

Some come here with problems and members do their best but there are no paid staff and no mandate to answer all questions. Some don't know that and get a little demanding which is OK but at that point someone will note what this place is!
bob

Reply 21 : Which Antivirus works best with Firefox?

was in relation to Firefox v 4.

That version is still in Beta, for testing purposes, and we can do little or nothing to help with problems with beta software. Beta testers are encouraged to report such problems back to the developers. That is what testing is all about.

It seems you are having problems with your Beta version of Firefox and so the best advice we could give is to uninstall it and go back to the latest stable version. That's Firefox 3.6.13 at present.

Mark

Dell Inspiron Duo Freezes at grey "Windows 7 Home Premium" Screen...?

Hi - I am fairly untechnical so may be missing something really obvious, but have just bought a new Inspiron Dell Duo....



It worked fine initially, but I have gone to try and turn it on again and it just gets to the grey swirly screen with Windows 7 Home Premium at the bottom (nothing else at all on the screen - other than the cursor) and won't seem to do anything at all...?



Any help appreciated!



Thanks, rudey

Reply 1 : Dell Inspiron Duo Freezes at grey "Windows 7 Home Premium" Screen...?

Can you take a picture?



So you get Dell's POST screen and it loads Windows and hangs?



Try running the Dell diagnostics

Thursday, April 21, 2011

itunes download

I have itunes installed when I go to check for downloads says new version of itunes available. I click on download,it looks like its going to start then it just goes to itunes store and never downloaded anything.

Reply 1 : itunes download

I skipped its offer and downloaded it directly from apple.com

M11x R1 Extended Warranty

Has anyone bought one yet? I just got a flyer in the mail for a three year extended warranty although I don't want one for that long. Probably try to extend it for one year. Does anyone know what the price is? I am asking here first because honestly I hate talking to a sales person to find out a answer whilst getting strong armed the whole time to buy something I don't want. Thanks ahead of time.

Reply 1 : M11x R1 Extended Warranty

Dell/AW warranty usually pays itself off in a couple of years in my experience.



I would extend as much as you can afford since it's probably more bang for the buck.

Wi-Fi Connection Very slow

Our internet connection over the Wi-fi (router VWR-VC) is extremely slow. We have ruled out all virus/malware and PC issues. In fact, when we disconnect the wi-fi, the internet connection on our PC runs perfectly.

The wi-fi connection is secured with a id/password.

Any suggestions?

Reply 1 : Wi-Fi Connection Very slow

because you ruled that out already, it's a router issue or a bad reception (possibly caused by interference with other radiation sources).

I'd try (a) changing the channel on the router, (b) walking around with a different laptop for a better diagnosis , (c) try another router, and (d) try this PC/laptop somewhere else. The last experiment shouldn't make any difference, of course, because you ruled out it's an issue of this PC. So it's just a double (or maybe even triple) check.


Kees

Reply 2 : Wi-Fi Connection Very slow

You've given us no base line (advertised speed) to work with. What is the speed of your ISP? What flavor, B, G, N wireless are you using? Is your desktop wireless adapter an add-on such as USB, on the motherboard, or is it PCI. Or is this a laptop built in mini-card, plug-in PCMCIA, or USB?

Looking for best mechanical keyboard with cool lighting

I'm a big Tron nerd so was really looking at the Tron keyboard by Razer, but it appears to be a terrible keyboard unless you only want to look at it. Bummer.

I got to thinking though I really do need a new keyboard. I'm not an expert, but I believe I need a mechanical keyboard. I see a lot of discussion about "cherry" and "switches". I can type pretty fast and am beginning to see how inefficient my old Microsoft keyboard is and how hard I have to press to type.

I'm looking for effortless and responsive typing. I do a ton of typing and want high end all around great typing. That being said I want it to look outstanding as well. Cool lighting is much preferred.

So far the only keyboard I have found online to be mechanical and have neat lighting is the Black Widow Ultimate, but again I am not an expert and can use any and all advice you all have on keyboards.

Please let me know what is out there that would be good for me. I appreciate the help!

--jwhyrock

Replace Q330 keyboard

I've stupidly spilt wine all over my Samsung Q330 laptop. Some of the keys don't work.

Going to a repair centre would be pretty expensive, so I plan to buy a new keyboard and replace it myself. Does anyone know where I can find instructions on disassembling the laptop? I'd rather not go in blind. I can't find anything on Samsung's website.

Many thanks!

Reply 1 : Replace Q330 keyboard

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&source=hp&q=samsung+parts+phone+number finds phone numbers and what looks to be a distributor.
Bob

Reply 2 : Replace Q330 keyboard

Go to Google and search for a repair/service manual for the model number of your laptop.

Reply 3 : Replace Q330 keyboard

Thanks for your help, guys.

However, it appears that it's impossible to replace only the keyboard. You have to place the whole upper part of the machine, including the touchpad. 120-130 including labour. It's complicated work and you have to remove the MB and just about all the components, detach the section from the hinges, etc. Laptops are just too fiddly and I'm going to leave this one to the professionals.

Reply 4 : Replace Q330 keyboard

It was for some Asus gamer laptop. It has the backlight option so maybe a bit more for that. The lowest price I had was 49.99 for some netbook. That was no bargain either.
Bob

Panasonic PV-GS15 upload to Windows 7 64 bit

I have a Panasonic PV-GS15 camcorder and am trying to upload minidv tapes from it to my desktop computer. My desktop is running windows 7 64-bit and will not recognize my camcorder to download from it. I use Windows Movie Maker but this is the first time I have tried to upload movies from this camcorder to this computer. According to Microsoft's website, the camcorder is not compatible with Windows 64-bit.

Is this a software issue? i.e. can I purchase software that would allow me to load from my camera to my computer?

Or do I need to purchase some sort of minidv player that is compatible with my computer? If so, can you recommend one?

Thank you.

Reply 1 : Panasonic PV-GS15 upload to Windows 7 64 bit

If you could dual boot into XP or Vista there's a chance that the Panasonic USB driver would still work, or the free WinDV app that some folks use for importing footage.

If you do a google search, this topic's been covered here before regarding compatibility w/ W7.
http://www.google.com/#sclient=psy&hl=en&safe=off&source=hp&q=+Panasonic+PVGS15+windows+7&aq=f&aqi=&aql=&oq=&pbx=1&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.&fp=d1235bb21e70f3a1



Building a Wireless Network for 130+ users

I need help designing a wireless network for an apartment complex. The complex is shaped like like an rectangle, fairly small, maybe 100 feet on the ends and 300 feet long on the sides. There are 130 people that we are assuming may have about 3 devices each that they will connect to the wireless network, potentially simultaneously, as this is in a college environment. We have plenty of bandwidth and down/up speed. We are running 30 megabit down and 10 up. I am planning on having a router with two access points centrally located in an apartment and extending the network out with antennas in each direction from the access points with Omni directional antennas. The Access points that I am planning on using are Cisco WAP200 with maybe a Linksys router, as the router should not have more than 10 connections on it. I need something that will not crash after 10-15 users connect to it because it jams up from overload.

Any help will be greatly appreciated and if more information is needed, just ask and I will give you whatever I can.

Reply 1 : Building a Wireless Network for 130+ users

That's what they do!

Reply 2 : Building a Wireless Network for 130+ users

How do I go about that? We've had a Cisco reseller come out and do a site survey, but they told us today that they don't work with our type of situation and that they support banks and small businesses rather than an apartment complex situation.

Reply 3 : Building a Wireless Network for 130+ users

The reseller is looking for easy. You're not that easy. You need someone to provide the package.

Bob

printer and spool

i went to add my printer.it says that i cant add printer,the spool service needs to be restarted or start the machine again,what does this mean

Reply 1 : printer and spool

It means the Print Spooler Service is disabled.

You need to check your Services Console to see what state the Print Spooler service is in.

Goto the Control Panel, then Administrative Tools, then highlight Services and click to open.

In the new window scroll down until you find "Print Spooler" and double click that entry. In the new dialog window, under "Startup type:" make sure the entry is set to "Automatic". If it isn't, change it to automatic.

Then under "Service status:" if the status is "Stopped", then click the Start button.

That will ensure the Print Spooler service is started, and will start the service each time you boot up the computer.

Hope that helps.

Mark

Reply 2 : printer and spool

Certainly, Mark's suggestion above will work for many. Unfortunately, I had a stubborn problem where the spool service would not stay enabled. To take care of that issue, I performed the steps below:

First, click on Start-Run (Or on Vista/Win7, click on Start, then type "Run" in the search line, then press the "Enter" key to bring up the "Run" box), type: "services.msc", then press the "Enter" key.. Scroll down to and set the "Print Spooler" service to "Automatic" and "Start" it.. Maybe multiple times till it sticks.

Next, what has worked for me (in both XP & Window 7), is to delete the contents of the following folders, then restart the computer.:

C:WindowsSystem32spoolPRINTERS

and

C:WindowsSystem32spooldrivers

Once done, you may not have to reinstall the printers. Try disconnecting the local printer (unplugged the USB cable), wait a few seconds, and then reconnect it. If that doesn't fix the issue, you may need to reinstall the printers. Also, be sure to check the settings in the "services.msc" again, just to be sure it's still set to "Automatic" and the service is started.

Hope this helps.

Grif

Reply 3 : printer and spool

Hi, my Vista (Home edition; the cheapest) desktop Dell Vostro now fails to keep print spooler app started, and cannot find printers on the home network. tried hardwiring printer; but prefer printer ethernet connected to FIOS router (modem integrated), and Dell hardwired to same fios router. My XP pc's wirelessly connected to a Netgear WRN2000 router (hardwired to the fios router) don't lose the printer...
I go into services to restart but eventually it has turned off. Eventually after working at it, it will connect to printer but eventually loses printer.

Plus, for 6 months i've been getting notice "Explorer has stopped and is being restarted"; though i'm useing firefox at the time, don't have Explorer browser open. Auto-Reporting to microsoft but get reply immediately that there's no solution found to the problem. This will happen sometimes every 5 minutes; sometimes not for an hour. The display looks normal (i'm not useing explorer browser), i can use other programs, and it restarts quickly; but can't help but think this is not good for pc and may be conneceted to spooler problem. Haven't run antivirus yet; using avast and zone alarm. any suggestions?
I considered re-installing the OS but that may not be best...
Vista Dell Vostro uses Avira antivirus and Zone alarm firewall...
I also have Norton symantec 360 (it's firewall is active) on the XP desktop and XP laptop which connect wirelessly to the netgear router. I've shut off the netgear firewall; windows firewall is off on all pc's on network. using the FIOS router firewall. I've read that different antivirus programs on home network can cause a problem. I could drop the Norton and just use Avira and Zonealarm on all the pc's i suppose...
thanks! i'm stuck on this one.

Reply 4 : printer and spool

Don't worry about the XP machines at this time.. It sounds like they're working correctly, Yes?

And just curious, do you have Service Pack 2 installed on your Vista machine?.. If not, you should.

"Explorer" is not the browser.. That's "Internet Explorer" and is another file name.. Explorer is the the basic Windows Shell which causes the desktop to load, Windows "Explorer" to open when you open any folder, etc.
___________________________________________

So, on the Vista machine, follow all of the procedures below to run multiple free malware removal tools:

If you can download the tools below on your current computer, and get them to work, then fine, but frequently the problem malware prevents the programs from running correctly. If that's the case, then download ALL of the tools below on a friend or family member's, CLEAN computer and copy them to a CD or flash drive, then transfer them to the problem machine and use them while in Safe Mode.

____________________________

After transferring it to the problem machine, run the following tool to help allow the removal programs below to run. (courtesy of Grinler at BleepingComputer.com)
There are 3 different versions. If one of them won't run then try to run the other one. Be patient.... as a black window should open, then close after finding all the background programs.
Vista and Win7 users need to right click and choose Run as Admin
You only need to get one of them to run, not all of them.

Rkill.exe
http://download.bleepingcomputer.com/grinler/rkill.exe

Rkill.com
http://download.bleepingcomputer.com/grinler/rkill.com

Rkill.scr
http://download.bleepingcomputer.com/grinler/rkill.scr

_____________________

IMMEDIATELY after running the "Rkill" tool above, run/install the Malwarebytes and SuperAntispyware installer and update files from the links below which you've also copied to a CD or flash drive, and transfered to the problem machine. Do NOT restart the computer after running Rkill.

Once downloaded and before transferring Malwarebytes and SuperAntispyware to the problem machine, rename the program installer "mbam-setup.exe" file to something else like "Gogetum.exe", then copy the installer file and the update file to a CD or flash drive.. Transfer the file to the problem machine, then install the "Gogetum.exe" file, then run the update to get the program current.. After that, run a full system scan and delete anything it finds.

Malwarebytes Installer Download Link (Clicking on the links below will immediately start the download dialogue window.)
http://www.besttechie.net/tools/mbam-setup.exe

Malwarebytes Manual Updater link
http://data.mbamupdates.com/tools/mbam-rules.exe

Next, install and run a full system scan with the SuperAntispyware program and the manual updater from the links below. As before, you may need to rename the installer file to get the program to install.:

SuperAntispyware
http://www.superantispyware.com/

SuperAntispyware Manual Updater
http://www.superantispyware.com/definitions.html
____________

In a few situations, in order for the program to run, it was also necessary to rename the main "mbam.exe" file also after installing it.. It resides in the C:Programs FilesMalwarebytes Antimalware folder....
_____________________


And after that, if everything's fine by you can't connect to the internet, then follow the procedures below to check your network "proxy" settings again.

Open Internet Explorer and go to Tools-Internet Options-Connection Tab. Click on the LAN settings button. IF there is a check mark next to "Use a proxy server for your LAN", uncheck it. Click OK. Then OK, again.
__________________

Once that's done, run an online scan using the free ESET online scanner from the link below.. Click on the link to immediately download the online scanner installer, then let it run the online scan and remove anything it finds.

NOTE: Clicking on the link below will immediately open the download dialogue window.
ESET Online Scanner

Hope this helps.

Grif

Reply 5 : printer and spool

thanks Grif
have done two rounds of your suggestions; found tracking cookies, not a lot of them.
will see if spooler stays running.

Still getting the warning "Internet Explorer has stopped working"...will try to find a solution to this problem."
a few seconds later, the box says"no solution has been found. windows is stopping the program."

other ideas?
will let you know if spooler is not fixed.
thanks, pdoyle

Reply 6 : printer and spool

...then my next step would be to create a second administrator account and see if things work correctly in the second account. If they do, then your current account is probably corrupt.. If that's the case, then copy all your current files and documents to the new account and eliminate the old one.

Hope this helps.

Grif

Reply 7 : printer and spool

hi Grif,
second administrator account hasn't prevented the spooler subsystem app from stopping; it works for my XP pc's on the home network, but the Vista desktop prints only intermittently; even to where it will print one page of a two page print document, but then doesn't print the second page til i turn it back on.
and i have to continually turn the spooler back on; it's set on Automatic.
The printer is even showing up as a device on the network map from FIOS router; which hasn't always been true.
Also having recurring problem of internet explorer stopping and having to restart.
? shall i reinstall vista; or
? i can get an upgrade to Windows 7 for $30 as i'm a student at a university so get a discount
? or other ideas?
thanks, pdoyle.

Reply 8 : printer and spool

or your suggestions in post 30f 7 above?

Reply 9 : printer and spool

Since the problem is basically an issue with the Vista machine only, then I would make sure you have the network you're using setup in ZoneAlarm as a "trusted" network.. I've seen a few recently that inadvertently got changed to "Internet" which blocks sharing of files and printers.

Next, try uninstalling the printer from the Vista machine and perform the steps below:

1. Download and install the LLTD update on all the Windows XP computers, if it hasn't been done already. If you're using SP3 on the XP computers, it should already be there, but give it a try anyway.:

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/details.aspx?FamilyID=4f01a31d-ee46-481e-ba11-37f485fa34ea&displaylang=en

2. Next, reinstall the printer on the Vista machine as if it were "local" computer using the instructions below:

Go to Control Panel. Choose printer. Then choose Add Printer.

Choose Add a local printer. Click on Create a new port. The default in the drop down box is Local Port. Do not change that. Click Next.

A dialogue box will appear asking for you to enter a port name. Type in the \computer nameprinter name of the XP machine....ie. My computer's name is basement and the printer name is EpsonSty so I typed in \basementepsonsty
_____________

As to upgrading to Windows 7, it might be possible but be sure to run down all the Win8 associated hardware drivers for your machine BEFORE making the upgrade.


Hope this helps.

Grif

LinkScanner

I have AVG Internet Security 9.0. I am being told that the Database for LinkScanner is outdated. What do I do to resolve this?

Reply 1 : LinkScanner

Hi,

please update your AVG and check the situation again as it should be already fixed (by update release at 12/31/2009 2:03 AM CET).

Thanks

Reply 2 : LinkScanner

Hi Ondrej, can you tell me what the latest version of link scanner is please my avg is showing 164

Reply 3 : LinkScanner

Hi,

yes, latest version of LinkScanner component is 164.

With this situation is related LinkScanner database, which do not have any visible numbering.

Run AVG update and check that AVG is fully updated and no new update is available.

Thanks

Reply 4 : LinkScanner

Thanks Ondrej, AVG is upto date I was just curious after reading first post about LinkScanner

Reply 5 : LinkScanner

Thanks!!

Reply 6 : LinkScanner

Hi guys, I have just hit the same problem. I am running XP Pro on this m/c and have a 3-user AVG licence (v9.0.725) - updated today (2/Jan/2010). Have tried the usual steps (inc. deleting temp files, check system date, etc) followed by AVG update - no updates detected. The only thing that might have affected this is my CMOS battery died 31st December and I changed it yesterday. The default date of Aug 2001 may have been temporarily used when online 31/12 and 1/1! My HP laptop with Vista 64-bit is running the same version and all is okay.
Any ideas, please? regard john.

Reply 7 : LinkScanner

Please make sure that the system time is correct, update your AVG and restart your computer. System time should not be changed by restart if your CMOS battery is now OK.

Does the issue persists after these steps?

Reply 8 : LinkScanner

hello i getting a database outof date on my parents avg linkscanner version 552 how do i fix this problem thanks alot happy

Reply 9 : LinkScanner

Hello kivaan,

Please provide us with following information:

Windows version (XP, Vista, Windows 7, etc...)
AVG version and virus db version (found in the lower left hand corner of the AVG windows)
Other antivirus software installed / previously uninstalled (if any)
Other protection software installed
The exact error message you are getting (if any) after running AVG update


Then please gather AVG update logs, upload it in an archive (zip file) to favorite online storage and provide us with link to it, so we can analyze this situation.

Thank you

Reply 10 : LinkScanner

hello i have been trying to uninstall the free version of avg 10 on my laptop but i cant!
more over now the problem is whenever I start my PC, AVG link scanner is always prompting for reboot saying that the update proccess must be completed by rebooting the computer. I did it for the first couple of times but it still gives me that same prompt every 60 minutes. its really irritating me now.
I would really appreciate it if someone could tell me how to uninstall AVG, or to at least stop AVG linkscanner from prompting for reboot.

please advise how to go about it.

Reply 11 : LinkScanner

Hello triptad,

Please try to fully reinstall AVG.

That should resolve your issue.

Thank you

clearing address book sync memory

To Forum


i have recently changed to use Google sync and sync my Google contacts with address book. However i want to clear the address book and re-sync a clean sync with Google contacts as i have cleaned up the Google contacts so that's the master list a the moment.

How can i clear the Address Book and Address Book sync and then sync with Google contacts one way and from then after the clean sync i can 2 way sync again

Slow Sleep Intel Mac

My Intel Mac takes exactly 30 seconds to go to sleep. I am using Snow Leopard.

Reply 1 : Slow Sleep Intel Mac

there is a lot to do before the machine goes to sleep.

I have an iMac that really does not like sleep at all.

P

Reply 2 : Slow Sleep Intel Mac

Wake me when it doesn't sleep at all or doesn't "wake up". Until then, there's nothing wrong.

Reply 3 : Slow Sleep Intel Mac

mrmacfixit and Jimmy

Thanks for your reassuring replies. My concern is that the precise 30 seconds is sharply in contrast to the usual variable 2 to 5 seconds. And, that it has happened before, each time with the additional glitch of a tone sounding with every 25th keystroke (no tone problem this time). Each of those times it has gone away on its own (along with the tone).

I have now tried a SMC reset and a PRAM reset, to no avail.

My concern is that when computers have gone out on me before, small glitches like this were the start.

Reply 4 : Slow Sleep Intel Mac

Most likely there's some app which is holding things up, and at 30 seconds the OS stops waiting patiently and forces the issue. If the thing starts not going into sleep mode or coming out of sleep mode when it shouldn't, then you can start to worry.

Reply 5 : Slow Sleep Intel Mac

The 30 second sleep delay has gone in and out on its own many additional times. But, now I have a way to control it. I found that pressing option-command-escape and the computer goes to sleep immediately. Afterwords the computer goes to sleep immediately every time, that is, until the next time it decides to start the with the 30-seconds again.

Reply 6 : Slow Sleep Intel Mac

which running App do you Force Quit?


P

Reply 7 : Slow Sleep Intel Mac

I am sorry. I typed in "escape" rather than "eject". Option-Command-eject is correct.

Reply 8 : Slow Sleep Intel Mac

keyboard shortcut for putting the computer to sleep


P

avi as a .tmp file? my video is stuck

hello, i have a simple key change video camera which i used to film a police stop in NYC.
when i got home i noticed the file never got saved as the normal AVI file typ eand instead there are two files:
"~idx.tmp" 11kb and "~visual.tmp" 3337kb. i renamed the "~visual.tmp" to "visual.avi" and tried opening it in a couple player softwares (windows medi aplayer and media player homcinema and neither worked. does anyone know anything about video temp files and how to recover such files?
thanks.

Reply 1 : avi as a .tmp file? my video is stuck

I have to write no, I can't help you much with that (for free.)

But will note you should try VLC PLAYER and hope.
Bob

Reply 2 : avi as a .tmp file? my video is stuck

tmp usually means temporary. So it's up to the maker of the camera software to tell you how that temporary file is processed in the camera to produce the usual avi and how you can do that now.

Kees

Accounting Software for Mac

Just switching over from the dark side (Ordered I-mac 20" 1 gig single ram and 400 gig hdd). Need views on accounting software. Quickbooks for mac seems to have horrible reviews so I am looking at MYOB, does anyone have any advice?

I would be using it for a business that does some internet sales so would like it to tie in to any web based sales we may generate. are there any add-ons that can handle this?

Any help would be much appreciated, I am looking forward to my new virus free existence!

Reply 1 : Accounting Software for Mac

Your new computer will come with Quicken pre-installed. (also i-Movie HD, i-Tunes, iPhoto, iDVD, GarageBand, Appleworks, and others)

I use it to ballance my checkbook, so I'm not even scratching the surface of what it will do. Before getting out the long green, see if it works for you. It's free.

Lampie

Reply 2 : Accounting Software for Mac

If the regular Quicken does not work for you, then MYOB is the next choice.
It is a very powerful piece of accounting software, I have a friend who has been running his medium sized business on it since it was released, that should do everything you need.
Their Tech Support is first class and appears to be based in the USA

P

Reply 3 : Accounting Software for Mac

Thanks for the replies. I have a lot of experience of using quicken in Win-doh, I am going to be running the accounts for my wife and I's Jewelery Coroporation. I want to set it up once and once only!

I think I will go for MYOB, unless anyone else has any other opinions?

The new machine arrives from Apple Later this week, long learning curve ahead and want to make it as easy as possible.

Reply 4 : Accounting Software for Mac

with the new machine. You will not regret it.

P

Reply 5 : Accounting Software for Mac

Stay away from quicken for mac, it is dreadful and the tech support is awful. I looked at iBank but it is just not well developed and even though the graphics are nice, that isn't enough.

Does anyone know anything about afirrora Fresh?

Reply 6 : Accounting Software for Mac

Hi,

I think you will enjoy the Mac OSX environment on your new iMac G5. As for the software question, I have yet to find issue with QuickBooks on the OSX platform. It's very similar to the PC environment and took me literally 2 days to switch.

I switched back to Mac after a 7 yr hiatus. My work includes a couple of small business ventures and consulting work.

I have no problem working with my CPA (a Windows shop). I suggest using the software that your CPA will support. Every software option will have it's Pros and Cons. There are bigger fish to fry.

Enjoy your new iMac. I made the switch as soon as the iMac G5 arrived in the summer. Invest in the extra memory from day one and you'll be happy for years to come.

AlohaShirt
20" iMac G5
2GB RAM

Reply 7 : Accounting Software for Mac

Accounting software that works great for Mac's

http://xero.com/mac

Reply 8 : Accounting Software for Mac

Is a very good software, I will introduce to all my friends. I think TinyBooks for Mac pretty good also
http://www.p2222.com/tinybooks_for_mac.html

Reply 9 : Accounting Software for Mac

I have been using MYOB for a few years now. I like it for the most part. But the Mac version is missing a few things.
For one, the mac version does NOT have spell check
- PC version does.

Tuesday, April 19, 2011

DVI -- to -- HDMI Doesn't Work

I installed a DVI-to-HDMI cable between my computer and my TV, but I get no picture. Is there anything I can do to get it to work? The DVI end is called A DVI D single Link. It has 18 male pins, whereas the female connector on my Windows XP computer has quite a few more sockets than that. Thanks!

Reply 1 : DVI -- to -- HDMI Doesn't Work

HDMI mandated HDCP on the signals. If your DVI video card does not add HDCP the display may fail.

This is above and beyond the other issues you read about.

As to the pins on DVI, if you research DVI connections you soon realise why there are more pins.
Bob

Dell Studio 1747 - Adding an SSD drive

Hi guys. I've just ordered a Dell Studio 1747 and I was wondering how I would go about installing an SSD, so I have some noob questions and would be grateful if anyone could answer them:



- Are there any brands to be avoided? I was reading some OCZ reviews yesterday and some people were reporting problems. I'm happy spending around 150 on a 128gb SSD.



- Do I need to purchase any other equipment? I watched a tutorial yesterday on installing a second hard drive and I don't think it had the metal casing already inside the Dell 17xx. Where would I purchase the casing for an SSD drive? Do I need to purchase 1747 specific casing?



- Can I easily make the second hard drive slot the main hard drive? I'd like to run Windows 7 on the SSD drive. Would installing Windows on there make it the C Drive?



Thanks.

Reply 1 : Dell Studio 1747 - Adding an SSD drive

If you want to add a SSD as a boot drive and use your disk drive as a back up yes your going to have to get that metal hd bracket.



When you do put your ssd in just remove your second hard drive completely and do a fresh install of Windows 7 on it.



Now once you have W7 installed and all drivers up to date you need to run W7's Windows Experience Index (WEI) When you do the W7 will realize there a ssd and adjust things for you (TRIM)

Reply 2 : Dell Studio 1747 - Adding an SSD drive

- OCZ has higher problem rates (drives disappearing, not booting), but also they were scamming customers with 25 nm SSDs selling them as 34 nm and were caught red handed. It is a company I would avoid. There are other SF manufacturers out there (Corsair, Patriot, Mushkin, GSkill)



- No you should use whatever you have with your laptop. You will need a 2nd HDD caddy if you want 2 drives.



- Yes installing Windows on the SSD would make it the C drive.

Reply 3 : Dell Studio 1747 - Adding an SSD drive


Quote:








Originally Posted by Tsunade_Hime
View Post

- OCZ has higher problem rates (drives disappearing, not booting), but also they were scamming customers with 25 nm SSDs selling them as 34 nm and were caught red handed.





Unfortunately I was caught up in that when I bought mine but they did take it back and replaced it with the right size and speed version.



But yes what Tsunade said I would avoid them if I was you.

Reply 4 : Dell Studio 1747 - Adding an SSD drive

Thanks a lot guys - appreciated!

Ubuntu on W520 with Nvidia Quadro 2000M

Hi,

I am not quite sure what to do to install Ubuntu on my Thinkpad W520. I want to keep Windows 7 but primarily use Ubuntu.



Can anyone point me in the right direction?



Thanks

Reply 1 : Ubuntu on W520 with Nvidia Quadro 2000M

I suggest you wait for Ubuntu 11.04 to be released before you install it (April, 29). I'm not sure if the current 10.10 version supports the new Intel Sandy Bridge processors.



Anyway, to install Ubuntu, just go to Ubuntu homepage | Ubuntu and hit the big orange "Download Ubuntu" icon. Then you'll have an option of selecting whether you want to download the 32 bit version of Ubuntu or the 64 bit version. I suggest that you download 64 bit version Ubuntu since minimum amount of RAM the W520 is sold with is 4GB. 64 bit Ubuntu can take advantage of all that RAM with any modifications. 32 bit Ubuntu can also take advantage of >4GB of RAM if you install a PAE kernel, but I don't think it's worth the effort to do that.



The file you download will be an .iso file. This is a disk image file, an exact copy of a CD or DVD. You will have to burn the .iso file to a CD/DVD. In Windows 7, you can right click the .iso file and open it with "Windows Disk Image Burner". It will look something like this: http://www.win7articles.com/image-fi...-burning-3.gif. Just click Burn and you're good to go



Now, to the actual installation. Keep the CD in your computer and restart it. Your computer should start booting from the CD. Wait one or two minutes while Ubuntu boots up. Once it's up and running, you can double click the Installer on the desktop. The installer is really straight forward and should guide you through the install without any trouble. During the installation, there is an option to shrink your Windows 7 partition to make room for Ubuntu. After the installation is finished, reboot your computer and remove the CD.



When your computer reboots, you'll want to enter the BIOS. I'm not sure what key you have to press to get in the BIOS as I don't a W520. Once you're in the BIOS, set the graphics to the nVidia Quadro 2000m. nVidia's Optimus graphics switching isn't supported under Ubuntu since nVidia is unwilling to write drivers for it. Then, save the BIOS settings and restart.



When the computer boots, you will see that there's a bootloader menu that allows you to choose whether you want to boot into Ubuntu or Windows 7. So, choose Ubuntu and wait for it to boot up.



Most of your hardware will work out of the box, except for your nVidia graphics card and possibly your wireless card. To install the drivers, just click System > Administration > Hardware Drivers. That will guide you through installing your drivers. You will need a wired connection to do this if your wireless card doesn't work out of the box.



And that's it! If you want to the codecs needed to play MP3's, watch flash videos, etc., you can open up the Ubuntu Software Center and install "Ubuntu Restricted Extras". Alternatively, you can click this link in Firefox on Ubuntu: Install Ubuntu Restricted Extras.



I hope I didn't sound like I was underestimating your abilities . Have fun and enjoy Ubuntu!



By the way, how do you like the W520 so far?

Reply 2 : Ubuntu on W520 with Nvidia Quadro 2000M

cpm22... That is the exact same question/direction that I wanted to know? As soon as I have the required number of (pm) posted I can (pm) you for some tips on Howto install Ubuntu 11.04 onto a w520... Good luck.

Best Speedtest.net results from Home

Lets see your Speedtest.net results from your home network.

I'm using a Motorola 6120 modem and a Netgear WNDR 3700

Reply 1 : Best Speedtest.net results from Home

El Cheapo internet at work. I pay like $30/mo.



Reply 2 : Best Speedtest.net results from Home

I pay for 10 Mbps cable service but apparently am getting 14 download. I would be satisfied, except my upload is pathetic (360k???).

Reply 3 : Best Speedtest.net results from Home

Reply 4 : Best Speedtest.net results from Home

Around $50 a month







I know you're all jealous.

Reply 5 : Best Speedtest.net results from Home

I raise you.





I feel like I am in 1999.



I am clearly getting capped for no reason, changing ISP soon.

Reply 6 : Best Speedtest.net results from Home

I cant complain for $20/month.





I have a 3.5G wireless connection through the local university though.

Only running one laptop mainly for internet browsing.

Once my other laptop gets here I will get the 4Mb/s.

The wireless is good for outdoors but here all the walls are concrete, so the signal inside is pretty poor.

Reply 7 : Best Speedtest.net results from Home

This is on the slow end... I have my 360 connected to live right now and another notebook downloading.



Reply 8 : Best Speedtest.net results from Home


Quote:








Originally Posted by BamAlmighty
View Post

This is on the slow end... I have my 360 connected to live right now and another notebook downloading.






hahahahaha fios

Reply 9 : Best Speedtest.net results from Home

I so wanna get FIOS...